His Excellency


The Most Reverend José Serofia Palma, D.D., S.Th.D (born 19 March 1950) is the current Archbishop of Cebu since his appointment by Pope Benedict XVI on 15 October 2010. He had previously served as Archbishop of Palo in the province and island of Leyte. He is also the current President of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines.

Palma was born in Dingle in the Archdiocese of Jaro. He studied philosophy at St. Vincent Ferrer Seminary and theological studies at the St. Joseph Regional Seminary. He received his licentiate in Sacred Theology at the Pontifical and Royal University Santo Tomas in Manila, and a doctorate from the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas in Rome. He was ordained a priest for the Archdiocese of Jaro on 21 August 1976.

After a year as assistant priest at the Cathedral of Jaro, he taught at the St Vincent Ferrer Seminary. After his studies in Rome, he became rector of the same St. Vincent Ferrer Seminary until he was appointed rector of the Major seminary of the Metropolitan Province of Jaro-the St. Joseph Regional Seminary, in 1988. Meanwhile, he also held various positions in several diocesan commissions. In 1997 he was made parish priest of the Parish of St Anthony of Padua in Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo (Archdiocese of Jaro). On 28 November 1997, Pope John Paul II appointed him Titular Bishop of Vazari Diddi and Auxiliary Bishop of Cebu. He was consecrated on 13 January 1998. Exactly a year later, he was made Bishop-Ordinary of the See of Calbayog.

On March 18, 2006 he was appointed as Archbishop of Palo and was installed on May 2, 2006.  On October 10 2010 he was appointed as Archbishop of Cebu and was installed on January 13, 2011.

Archbishop’s Residence
234 D. Jakosalem St., (PO Box 52)
6000 Cebu City
Tel: (032) 2540951, 2533382
Fax: (032) 2554458

Office of the Archbishop

Private Secretaries to the Archbishop:
Rev. Msgr. Ildebrando Jesus A. Leyson, P.C.

Assistant to Msgr. Leyson:
Rev. Fr. Ian Fel Balangkig

Media Liaison Officer:
Rev. Msgr. Achilles Dakay, P.A.

Appointment Secretary:
Sr. Evelyn T. Dalimot, MCST

Correspondence Secretary:
Sr. Ma. Alicia L. Abella, MCST

Office Staff:
Ma. Royla Cerojano
Rodilia L. Torrecampo